Tag Archives: celebration

Aloha Festival

heritage

Bay Area Aloha Festival

Pacific Islanders of the San Francisco Bay Area offer talents in music & dance during this 2-day festival of arts. Entertainment highlights include Pacific Islander music as well as Polynesian dance. The festival will also feature arts & crafts vendors, island cuisine, educational exhibits and workshops, and games for the kids! Located at the San Mateo County Event Center.

Annual event; August

San Mateo, CA

pica-org.org

 

Hawaii

Hmong International New Year Celebration

Hmong International New Year Celebration, 2010

Hmong International Celebration

To preserve the Hmong cultural heritage, promote collaboration and understanding among the Hmong people and other ethnic groups, and to build social bridges with the international community.

Originally commissioned as a simple means to fund-raise for and manage the annual Hmong new year festival at the end of the traditional harvest season during late October, HINYF has evolved over the years to become one of the leading contributors to the welfare and progress of the Hmong people in the United States.

Fresno, CA
Annual event: October

facebook.com/hinyf

 

Hmong International New Year Celebration, 2010

Hmong International New Year Celebration, 2010

CA Holiday

California Holiday Calendar

Annual calendar holidays & night skies for 2022

Carson Peak June Lake Loop

This list below is published by Total Escape, so you can easily plan your weekends away and your outdoor vacations, your fishing trips, your stargazing nights, your valuable three day weekends. ” Hey DanaMite, when is the next meteor shower?” Now you know!

holidays for 2022

JANUARY

  • Saturday, January 1   New Year’s Day
  • Sunday, January 2   (new moon)
  • Quadrantid Meteor Shower
  • Monday, January 17   Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (full moon)

FEBRUARY

  • Tuesday, February 1   (new moon)
  • Wednesday, February 2   Groundhog Day
  • Friday, February 14     Valentine’s Day (full moon)
  • Friday, February 16    (full moon)
  • Monday, February 21     President’s Day Weekend

MARCH

  • Tuesday, March 1   Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday
  • Wednesday, March 2    Ash Wednesday (new moon)
  • Sunday, March 13   Daylight Savings Time starts
  • Thursday, March 17   Saint Patrick’s Day
  • Friday, March 18  (full moon)
  • Sunday, March 20  Vernal Equinox (Spring)

APRIL

  • Friday, April 1   April Fools Day (new moon)
  • Wildflowers bloom begins statewide
  • Lyrid Meteor Shower
  • Sunday, April 10   Palm Sunday
  • Tuesday, April 15   Good Friday
  • Saturday, April 16   Passover (full moon)
  • Sunday, April 17   Easter Sunday
  • Friday, April 22   Earth Day
  • Friday, April 29 Arbor Day
  • Saturday, April 30  (new moon)

MAY

  • Thursday, May 5     Cinco de Mayo
  • Sunday, April 8   Mother’s Day
  • Eta Aquarid Meteor Shower
  • Monday, May 16  (full moon)
  • Monday, May 30    Memorial Day  (new moon)

JUNE

  • Tuesday, June 14 Flag Day (full moon)
  • Sunday, June 19  Father’s Day
  • Tuesday, June 21 Summer Solstice
  • Tuesday, June 28 (new moon)

JULY

AUGUST

SEPTEMBER

  • Monday, September 5   Labor Day
  • Saturday, September 10  (full moon)
  • Thursday, September 22  Autumnal Fall Equinox
  • Sunday, September 25  (new moon)

OCTOBER

  • Sunday, October 9  (full moon)
  • Monday, October 10     Columbus Day
  • Orionid Meteor Shower
  • Tuesday, October 25 (new moon)
  • Monday, October 31   Halloween

NOVEMBER

  • Sunday, November 6   Daylight Savings Time ends
  • Tuesday, November 8   Election Day (full moon)
  • Friday, November 11     Veterans Day
  • Leonid Meteor Shower
  • Wednesday, November 23 (new moon)
  • Thursday, November 24     Thanksgiving Day

DECEMBER

  • Wednesday, December 7 (full moon)
  • Wednesday, December 21    Winter Solstice
  • Friday, December 23  (new moon)
  • Geminid Meteor Shower
  • Saturday, December 24          Christmas Eve
  • Sunday, December 25     Christmas Day
  • Saturday, December 31     New Years Eve

Boat Parade of Lights

tree boat parade

Parade of Lights
Holiday Boat Parade

Christmas Boat Parades in California

 

SOUTHERN CALIFORNIA:

San Diego Parade of Lights
San Diego Bay
San Diego, CA
619-224-2240
www.sdparadeoflights.org

OceansideParade of Lights
Oceanside CA
Oceanside Yacht Club
www.oceansideyc.net

Dana Point Harbor Boat Parade of Lights
Dana Point, CA
949-923-2255
www.danapointharbor.com

Cruise of Lights Boat Parade
Huntington Beach, CA
www.cruiseoflights.org

Christmas Boat Parade & Fireworks
Newport Beach, CA
100 years running!
www.christmasboatparade.com

sailing xmas tree

Naples Christmas Boat Parade
Belmont Shores @ Naples Canals
South Long Beach, CA
www.naplesca.com

Long Beach Parade of 1000 Lights
Downtown Shoreline Marina
Shoreline Yacht Club
Long Beach, CA
www.shorelineyachtclub.com/event

LA Harbor Holiday Afloat Parade
Long Beach Area
San Pedro, CA
310-549-8111
www.portoflosangeles.org/community/calendar

Redondo Beach Christmas Boat Parade
Redondo Beach King Harbor @ Los Angeles
Redondo Beach, CA
King Harbor Yacht Club
310-376-2459
www.khyc.org

Marina Del Rey Holiday Boat Parade
West Los Angeles California
Marina del Rey, CA
www.mdrboatparade.org

Venice Canals Holiday Boat Parade
West Los Angeles
Venice Beach, CA
310-809-8100
www.venicechristmasboatparade.com

Oxnard Parade of Lights
Marine Emporium Landing
Oxnard, CA
805-985-5828
www.marineemporiumlanding.com

Ventura Parade of Lights Boat Parade & Fireworks
Ventura Harbor Village
Ventura, CA
805-477-0470
www.venturaharborvillage.com

Santa Barbara Parade of Lights
Santa Barbara, CA
805-963-0611
www.santabarbaraca.gov

 

pine

 

CENTRAL COAST CALIFORNIA:

Morro Bay Christmas Boat Parade
Morro Bay Embarcadero
Morro Bay, CA
805-772-4467

 

botaparade

 

SAN FRANCISCO BAY AREA:

Bethel Island Lighted Boat Parade
San Joaquin Boat Parade @ the California Delta
Bethel Island, CA
San Joaquin Yacht Club
925-684-9985
www.sjyc.org

Fisherman’s Wharf Lights & Sights Boat Parade
Pier 39, Aquatic Park
San Francisco, CA
415-673-3530
www.visitfishermanswharf.com

Oakland Lighted Yacht Parade
Alemeda Estuary
Oakland, CA
925-413-3845
www.lightedyachtparade.com

Petaluma Holiday Lighted Boat Parade
Petaluma River Turning Basin
Petaluma, CA
707-769-0429
www.visitpetaluma.com

Santa Cruz Harbor Boat Parade
Santa Cruz Harbor
Santa Cruz, CA
Santa Cruz Yacht Club
831-425-0690
www.scyc.org

Sausalito Lighted Yacht Parade
Sausalito Yacht Club
Sausalito, CA
415.332-7400
www.sausalitoyachtclub.org

Delta Reflections Lighted Boat Parade
McCloud Lake @ Downtown Waterfront
Stockton, CA
Marine West Yacht Club
209-477-7653
www.mwyc.org

California Christmas Tree Farms

Blue Spruce TreesOn rare occasions the local National Forest may be letting the general public cut their own Christmas trees in the nearby forests. There is usually a small fee & a list of rules. They do this for thinning of the forest, where pine trees are too close together. Free labor for the government & you are paying them for the privilege of cutting your own perfect pine tree. American traditions such as this still exist.

Call your local Rangers Office to inquire.

We love convenience & the reasonable prices of getting a tree locally. If you must buy your live Christmas Tree in the city, try your local plant nursery first. Orchard Supply Warehouse (OSH) usually has a great selection on live trees. Replant your little pine tree in your yard, or back in to a forest.

Southern California

San Diego

Family Christmas Tree Farm
El Cajon, CA

Rancho Noel Tree Farm
Potrero, CA

Highland Valley Christmas Tree Farm
Ramona, CA

LA / OC / Inland Empire

Big Bear Christmas Trees

Live Oak Canyon Christmas Tree Farm
Redlands, CA

Casazza’s Christmas Tree Farm
Rancho Cucamonga, CA

Peltzer Pines Christmas Tree Farms
Silverado, CA

Nancy’s Ranch
Santa Clarita, CA

 

Gold Country California

El Dorado County Christmas Tree Growers

 

 

Perhaps you want to cut your very own real tree, the premium looking pine (Blue Spruce, Douglas Firs) – without off roading all over public lands. Locate some Christmas Tree Farms  on the link below.

christmas-tree.com/real/ca/

If you’ll hafta settle for the freshly cut tree, here is a list of California retail tree lots. cachristmas.com/RetailLotMenu