Tag Archives: 3 day weekends

CA Holiday

California Holiday Calendar

Annual calendar holidays & night skies for 2022

Carson Peak June Lake Loop

This list below is published by Total Escape, so you can easily plan your weekends away and your outdoor vacations, your fishing trips, your stargazing nights, your valuable three day weekends. ” Hey DanaMite, when is the next meteor shower?” Now you know!

holidays for 2022

JANUARY

  • Saturday, January 1   New Year’s Day
  • Sunday, January 2   (new moon)
  • Quadrantid Meteor Shower
  • Monday, January 17   Martin Luther King, Jr. Day (full moon)

FEBRUARY

  • Tuesday, February 1   (new moon)
  • Wednesday, February 2   Groundhog Day
  • Friday, February 14     Valentine’s Day (full moon)
  • Friday, February 16    (full moon)
  • Monday, February 21     President’s Day Weekend

MARCH

  • Tuesday, March 1   Mardi Gras Fat Tuesday
  • Wednesday, March 2    Ash Wednesday (new moon)
  • Sunday, March 13   Daylight Savings Time starts
  • Thursday, March 17   Saint Patrick’s Day
  • Friday, March 18  (full moon)
  • Sunday, March 20  Vernal Equinox (Spring)

APRIL

  • Friday, April 1   April Fools Day (new moon)
  • Wildflowers bloom begins statewide
  • Lyrid Meteor Shower
  • Sunday, April 10   Palm Sunday
  • Tuesday, April 15   Good Friday
  • Saturday, April 16   Passover (full moon)
  • Sunday, April 17   Easter Sunday
  • Friday, April 22   Earth Day
  • Friday, April 29 Arbor Day
  • Saturday, April 30  (new moon)

MAY

  • Thursday, May 5     Cinco de Mayo
  • Sunday, April 8   Mother’s Day
  • Eta Aquarid Meteor Shower
  • Monday, May 16  (full moon)
  • Monday, May 30    Memorial Day  (new moon)

JUNE

  • Tuesday, June 14 Flag Day (full moon)
  • Sunday, June 19  Father’s Day
  • Tuesday, June 21 Summer Solstice
  • Tuesday, June 28 (new moon)

JULY

AUGUST

SEPTEMBER

  • Monday, September 5   Labor Day
  • Saturday, September 10  (full moon)
  • Thursday, September 22  Autumnal Fall Equinox
  • Sunday, September 25  (new moon)

OCTOBER

  • Sunday, October 9  (full moon)
  • Monday, October 10     Columbus Day
  • Orionid Meteor Shower
  • Tuesday, October 25 (new moon)
  • Monday, October 31   Halloween

NOVEMBER

  • Sunday, November 6   Daylight Savings Time ends
  • Tuesday, November 8   Election Day (full moon)
  • Friday, November 11     Veterans Day
  • Leonid Meteor Shower
  • Wednesday, November 23 (new moon)
  • Thursday, November 24     Thanksgiving Day

DECEMBER

  • Wednesday, December 7 (full moon)
  • Wednesday, December 21    Winter Solstice
  • Friday, December 23  (new moon)
  • Geminid Meteor Shower
  • Saturday, December 24          Christmas Eve
  • Sunday, December 25     Christmas Day
  • Saturday, December 31     New Years Eve

Indian Flats Campground

Temecula Camping / Warner Springs Campground

San Diego Mountains – Cleveland National Forest

Indian Flats Campground

Indian Flat Campground is located on the seasonal San Luis Rey River in rural North San Diego County.  From I-15 @ Temecula, CA travel eastbound on Highway 79. Look for the tiny turn off  (on left side) for forest road #9N05, sorta near glider airport located west of Warner Springs. This poorly paved backcountry route (half dirt/mud at times) is also known as both Indian Flats Road or Lost Valley Road.

Graded dirt road (paved in some portions) travel is approximately 6.5 miles to campground, look for gate and turn off on the left side. When you see the giant boulder near the entrance, you’ll know you’ve made it to the right place.

Oak trees and a few pines, plenty shade, boulders and mountain scenery, this is a great small campground that is well away from everything in Southern California.  Seasonal creek-sized river and boulder waterfall often dries up in late summer. This means a wet spring is the best time to visit this camp. Hiking, mountain biking trails and hammock spots. Pacific Crest Trail access.

Cleveland National Forest
Palomar Ranger District
760-788-0250

ClevelandMap_07

Elevation: 3,600′
Number of Sites: 17
Camping Reservations: None
Sites Available: First come, First serve
Vehicle Accessibility: Length 15′ max.
Length of Stay: 14 Days
Water: No Piped; Seasonal creek nearby
Toilet: Vault
Season: Closed for mud & snow during winter months
Fee: Yes
Operated By: National Forest Service
Closest Town: Warner Springs, CA

Indian Flat
Indian Flat Campground Entrance